Does Arduino replace the use of IC's ?

Hello,

I’m new to all this and have some questions as I cant find the answer online. I Apologize for the ignorance.

1. Does the Arduino replace the need for IC’s in a circuit? meaning if you build a project of some kind without the use of Arduino do you end of using more IC’s to complete a project because the Arduino does what a an Extra IC might do?

2 I used to play around with those project kit labs 150 in 1 or the 300 in one. How is this different compared to those lab kits.

3 can you really build anything you really want with Arduino so as long as you have a schematic or a program for it ?

4 I bought this from Amazon Elegoo Mega 2560 Project The Most Complete Ultimate Starter Kit w/ TUTORIAL for Arduino Mega2560 UNO Nano also the Elegoo 37-in-1 Sensor Module Kit for Arduino UNO R3, MEGA

I am surprised there aren’t much IC’s with any of the kits. This is why I was asking question # 1.

1. Yes, sometimes, maybe, it depends.

2. Those kits did not have any software programmable parts or require a pc/laptop to run the development environment. Also those kits are toys, albeit educational ones. Arduino can also be educational, but you can also build some seriously useful projects with it.

3. No, you could not build a nuclear reactor or an interstellar space vehicle for example.

4. What is your question?

My answers:

1. Sometimes an Arduino replaces the need for ICs. Sometimes not. Sometimes you have to add ICs to an Arduino to make things that work correctly.

2. Those kits provide a lot of instructions and do not require any programming. There is much information available for Arduinos but you may have to go find it yourself. Programming is required.

3. Probably not. Example: I really want an F-35 fighter jet. I do not think that an Arduino is going to cut it.

4. OK.