Drive by wire boat for kids

Hello there,

I am totally new to Arduino but I recently heard about the amazing things you can build using one. My background is in engineering and instrumentation so I have some familiarity with sensors, logic programming, wiring, etc.

Here is my vision for a project, hoping someone more experienced could help me with which boards/ sensors/ and techniques would be best for me:

I would like to build a miniature boat powered by a small gas engine (like maybe 3 feet across the stern, 5 feet long) for my kids to drive close the the beach on the lake, like a powerwheels truck if anyone is familiar with those. I recently thought to make the steering and throttle "Fly by wire" instead of physical mechanical connections. I would also like the ability to remotely take over control via Radio communication for safety/ or just to keep them from escaping. By flipping a switch on my tranmitter I would like to kill their controls and use my own for the rudder and throttle control.

Simplified list of controls:

-Steering wheel rotary input (doesn't have to be rotary if not available) to an actuator or servo output to control rudder
-Throttle input (suggest possible options) to an actuator or servo to control gas engine throttle
-A way for an RC Tranmitter (maybe 4 or 5 channel) to shut down or override their controls
-RC transmitter emergency kill switch for gas engine
-RC tranmitter input to control same output to rudder
-RC transmitter input to control the same output to throttle

Does this sound feasible using Arduino Hardware and programming or am I looking in the wrong place entirely? How easy is it to combine Arduino and standard RC components?

Thank you for taking the time and any help is greatly appreciated!

• Mike