Driving multiplexed 2.3" seven segment displays problem

Hi all,

I am kind of new to electronics, so I started by doing a simple countdown.
I have been following the instructions here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Seven-Segment-Display-Tutorial/?ALLSTEPS
I was able to get the smaller seven segment displays to perfectly. Both one digit and two digits, later learning shift registers I increased to 4 digits.

Recently I got a few 2.3" seven segment displays for free. (8v, 15ma, common anode)
I have been playing around with them but could not get them to work.
I searched around and figured that the arduino is not powerful enough to drive them and I will need to bump the current up.
I started with transistors (PN2222), got all the segments to light up. I was able to count down with 1 digit.
However, I cannot get two digits to work.
I tried using the ULN2003 instead but same thing. Only 1 digit would work.

What I did:

• All 7 led segments from the arduino were connected to the ULN2003, which then output to the displays. (9v at pin9 and GND at pin8)
  • I have 9v going into the collector pin, arduino connected to the base pin and the emitter pin to the common anode pin of the display.(using the PN2222) However the displays would not light up.
  • Everything works fine until I add in the second display.

Did I do something wrong or missed a step?
Any help would be appreciated!

If the segments require 8V you can't drive them directly from the Arduino. You will need "High-side" drivers for the common anodes of each digit and "Low-side" drivers for the cathodes of each segment. Low-side drivers are easy since you can use an NPN transistor. The high-side drivers are harder: you can use a PNP transistor between +8V and the Cathode but to turn that transistor OFF you need to bring the Base pin up to 8V which the Arduino can't do directly. You can use a pull-up resistor to bring the Base up to 8V (OFF) and another NPN transistor to bring the Base down to Ground (ON).