EasyDriver/stepper: Wrong behavior when using stepper.h or AccelStepper.h

Hi Everyone,

I’m a beginner, first post.I read the “how to use this forum” a couple times, and i’ll try to stick to the rules.
Please let me know if there is something i’m not doing right, (i think you will!) and i’ll make the corrections.
I also spent days looking for a solution on this forum and elsewhere (the AccelStepper Google group for example)

================

setup
Arduino uno + easy drivers + Nema17 (specs/datasheets below)

Problem
The unexpected behavior with the Arduino example “stepper_oneRevolution”:

>>> The motor doesn’t go backward.
After setting the step per revolution to 1600, it goes counter-clock wise half a revolution, then again counter-clock wise 1 full revolution.

================

To start with and match the wiring (Easy Driver Hook-up Guide - learn.sparkfun.com), I changed the pins number from this:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 9, 10, 11);
to this:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 2, 3, 4, 5);

I also tried to swap 2 and 3 and a few other combinations with no success. I got it going backward at some point (2,4,3,5 if i remember) but the Forward and backward moves weren’t symmetric.

I looked at the Stepper.h file but couldn’t find anything obvious. (not much coding knowledge here)

================

Questions:

Since the demo Sparkfun code seems to work (as well as other codes from this forum, as long as they don’t use the Stepper.h or AccelStepper.h:

1. Is it a wiring issue that wouldn’t show up with simpler codes (pins not used …)?
  2. Do i need to tweak the stepper.h library?
  3. Is it something else i’m not seeing/aware of?

Thanks in advance, any help will be greatly appreciated.
Please let me know if i need to provide more or different informations in order to be helped.

================

More infos, specs …

Attached is a Fritzing Breadboard wiring diagram.