env: python3: no such file or directory

Hey guys so I am new to using nodemcu on arduino, and tried to just begin a simple blynking program on nodemcu1.0(ESP-12E Module).

I was recieving this error upon compilation, so I haven’t even plugged in my nodemcu, just hit the verify button, and this error continuously appeared:

env: python3: No such file or directory
exit status 127
Error compiling for board NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module).

I have all required boards and libraries downloaded, and eventually after not being able to find the issue, I cut down the code to the minimal possible code to make sure the error was not in my code:

void setup() {}
void loop() {}

I looked at the error, and updated my Mac OSX to have python 3.8, and also set the default global python to 3.8, however the exact same issue occurred. Then I went to the terminal, and found all the files used by the esp8266 library, and changed all the source versions to python3.

Again, the same error occurs.

I’ve been on this issue with the help of the internet and my dad for the entire day, and we have not been able to come up with a solution, so any fixes are much appreciated.

Thanks again.

I attached the text copied to the clipboard when I hit copy error messages:

Error Message env-python3.doc (35.5 KB)

The ESP8266 platform has a tool dependency on Python 3, but rather than installing a dedicated copy of Python 3 with the package, the ESP8266 platform developers assume you have Python 3 already installed at /usr/local/bin/python3.

The python3 file at the path shown in the error message is just a symlink to that location. So either you have Python 3 installed somewhere else, like /usr/bin/python3, or maybe you don't have Python 3 installed at all. If the former, you need to modify the symlink, as described here. If the latter, you need to install Python (and possibly modify the symlink as well if it was installed to a location other than /usr/local/bin/python3.