FHT low pass filter

So I am using fht, I found this post

I found out why I am getting aliasing. (bins 2-256 all get activated from anything more than 145hz)
in said post, jremington says I need a low pass filter. I am relatively new to arduino what does he mean by a low pass filter, and how can I do it cost-effectively.

You either need to sample at a much higher rate, or use an anti-aliasing filter before the ADC (a circuit using a few opamps, such as 4th order Butterworth low pass filter as Sallen Key). For instance: https://www.multisim.com/content/gGnfLtUMQBry2iWqsFzLij/4th-order-low-pass-sallen-key-filters/

Its much simpler to sample at a higher rate, like 48kHz, if your hardware can manage it.

i am using an arduino uno, how would I sample at a higher rate?

You change the prescaller register to the A/D.
You can push it to about 35 Ksps ( Samples per second )

Low pass filter

could you please elaborate on what you mean by "prescaller register to the a/d"? How would i change that in the code?

I'm not an expert on this, but the FFT/FHT algorithm has to "know" the sample rate so if there's not a function in the FFT library I'd expect it to be in the library documentation.

Well I can but I am not sure heaping more detail is going to help only confuse but here we go.

The A/D converter is clocked from the main system clock through a frequency divider circuit. A single stage divides the input frequency by two. Basically this is just an edge triggered D-type flip flop with the inverted output wired to the D input. Two stages in cascade will result in a division of four and each additional stage doubled the frequency division achieved.

On an Uno or Nano These work like this:-

There are three bits in an internal memory of the processor chip address 0x7A which is called the ADPS2 register that control the division ratio you get, as shown here:-