First LED matrix

Hi all a few days ago i decided it was time to embark on my first serious solo arduino project and i decided to do an LED matrix. I'm fairly new to this so i thought it would be nice to work on this post some of the things i've done to get some feed back.

At this point i've decided to go with a 6 x 24 led matrix controlled via the arduino and mux/demuxers. My only real concern with this design is 16MHz being fast enough to refresh all the LEDs so as to operate via persistence of vision. Concerns aside I've ordered my LEDs and mux/demuxers and i've even written a little snippet of code to test lighting the whole thing up (which i will attach.) So if you would like feel free to criticize my code (learning the language) and design. Well here is my code for testing. If all goes well i will get parts by thursday/friday and be started working on a library to drive it. I'll update this thread as i progress.

Cheers,
Tyler

MatrixTestSketch.ino (5.29 KB)

You don't specify what chips you're using so I can't comment directly on your setup but a 16 MHz 328 runs my 24x16 matrix with 32 levels of PWM with no problems, so what you want to do is absolutely doable.

Good luck!

The Arduino is plenty fast enough to update 144 leds. Here is a thread on how many clock cycles it takes to toggle a pin:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1230286016

How bright they will be and how much time each will be on for of course depends on how many you're lighting at once and how much current you put through them. If it's 24 at once in 6 rows, then the current per led will be /6. If you're only lighting 6 at once, then it will be /24 so they might be kinda dim. And if you're only lighting one at a time, they're gonna be pretty dim.