Frequency in (count) and frequency out on Nano

Hi there.

I'm new to the Arduino arena, and is looking for a bit of guidance.

My project involves a simple read, compute and output routine.

I would like to read a TTL frequency signal, range 0 to 400Hz, and depending on what the frequency is, I want to output another frequency, apply a scale or output a fixed frequency when input is out of range, also 0 to 400Hz, give or take.

I thought outputting the signal using one of the PWM ports, and modifying the timer would do the trick for the output, but am afraid that timers will be interrupted while doing the frequency input reading.

For the application I need, interrupting the output, or turning off while reading the input is unacceptable. I would like to update the output every 200mS or so, so nothing really fancy. Accuracy to 5Hz or better.

I'm struggling to find the appropriate libraries for use in a Nano.

Would some of you be able to point me in the right direction?

If you search for the nano versions 3.0+ have the same processor as the Uno, AtMega328

The PWMs are a hardware feature, they run in the background. Unless you specifically alter the configuration of that PWM it won't be affected by what the processor is doing.

CommonRodent:
The PWMs are a hardware feature, they run in the background. Unless you specifically alter the configuration of that PWM it won't be affected by what the processor is doing.

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/SecretsOfArduinoPWM

I was of the understanding that tampering with hardware timers (to modify the PWM base frequency) could affect other functions also using the timers. At the same time, I read that some of the frequency input libraries also modify, or at least utilize some of the timers, and at times disable others.

Maybe I'm wrong.