General Question user interface on PC screen

Hello,

I'm very new to Arduino and looking for a (general) introduction to a simple GUI,

At a small project I've been working on I have to measure temperature, pressure and need to open and close some valves. To get it more user-friendly I'm looking for a simple GUI. All I need is some sliders to push values up and down, displaying some numbers and buttons for on and off, too. That's it! Very simple!

However, the stuff I found was either somehow too specific or somehow "too much" information. For example, I found a library called ControlP5. This seems to have all the visual effects I need. But how I can I connect it with the Input/outpout of the Arduino? I also found a program called Processing. Do I need this for ControlP5?

So, I'm just looking for some kind of introduction to GUI for Arduino (link, book, etc)? And to be more specific I'm looking for a graphical interface I can use instead of the serial monitor. Nothing to plug in, etc. Simply displaying it on the PC screen.

Any help would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

Here is an example of what I have in mind:

controlP5-interface-basic.jpg

controlP5-interface-basic.jpg

I don't think you are going to find what you are looking for. The Arduino is not a Lego Set where you just plug in components. Also, what are the I/O devices you are using? LCD Touch Screen, Terminal, Nextion? Every one would be different.

SteveMann:
I don't think you are going to find what you are looking for. The Arduino is not a Lego Set where you just plug in components. Also, what are the I/O devices you are using? LCD Touch Screen, Terminal, Nextion? Every one would be different.

I know that and that's not what I'm looking for.
To be more specific I'm looking for a graphical interface I can use instead of the serial monitor. Nothing to plug in, etc. Simply displaying it on the PC screen.
Do you know what I mean?

Does it have to be on a PC screen?