goto statements in arduino.

im a experienced basic programmer and ive been wondering what the syntax for a goto statement is in the arduino code ... i basic the goto statement is used in this format
:#this would be used to make a loop
:lbl 1
:
:goto 1

:digitalwrite(2,1)
:if digitalread(2) = 1 then goto 1
:dgitalwrite(2,0)
:#this would cause the led on pin 2 to flash (in basic) by alternating between off and on.

i need to use the goto statement for a enu system for a watch im buiding using the arduino ... it would be used for menus

Do you have a question?

i need to use the goto statement

That statement is almost certainly false.

(What was it Dijkstra said about BASIC? :smiley: )

im a experienced basic programmer

In which case you presumably do not use the GOTO command. Nor do you need to when using the Arduino as there are better ways of managing program flow.

Arduino is C, and C has goto. You can google goto and C for examples;

However - goto is terrible, and should be avoided when writing code. Calling functions, and using the normal flow control statements produce more maintainable, more readable code, and it's easier to find bugs and not write them in the first place.

Almost nobody still uses goto these days (and those that do, and know what they're doing, use it only in special cases) - it was common in the early days of computing, before people had really figured out that it wasn't a good thing. See "goto considered harmful".

"goto considered harmful".

Well, that is somewhat like religions saying eating pork is harmful. Using goto can be fun as it causes some people to get flipped out over it.

brenden_nerd_:
i need to use the goto statement ...

No, you don't.

I've written thousands of lines of code, and hundreds of Arduino sketches. I never use goto in them.

You may want to ... but if you use them, well, you have just increased your debugging workload.

zoomkat: