Ground on one board to INPUT_PULLUP on another board

I’m new to Arduino and my general coding knowledge is limited. I’m using Arduino Unos to open and close relays based on inputs from PIR motion sensors (pin 10). I’ve built 5 of these circuits and my code probably isn’t efficient but it does what I expect it to.
I want the circuits to be scalable so that, if connected, the value from the PIR sensor on a master circuit will control the relays on slave circuits.
My plan was to have an output wire (pin 13) and an input wire (pin 11) on each circuit. I tried to use the same logic as I was using for the PIR sensor, but I experienced what I now believe is a floating pin (random highs / lows). I changed pin 11 from input to input pullup, reversed my highs / lows, and now I’m having a strange intermittent problem that doesn’t make sense to me.
I set the output (pin 13) on my master as low and connected it to the input_pullup (pin 11) on my slave but it didn’t override the pullup resistors to report low. I connected from ground on the master to pin 11 on the slave, it still didn’t work.
The curious thing is that if I run from a specific ground pin on the master to pin 11 on the master (the same circuit) it continuously triggers the loop which is what I would expect it to do. When I run from the same ground pin on the master to pin 11 on the slave it doesn’t work. It also doesn’t work if I connect any other ground pin on the master to pin 11 on the master.
I’ve repeated and replicated the results and switched the master and slave circuits to be relatively confident that all of the pins are behaving as they should and that the circuits are indeed identical.
Why would connecting from one ground pin to the input_pullup on the same circuit work but if I connect the same ground pin to the input pullup on an identical circuit it doesn’t work? Also, why does it work from one ground pin on a self-contained circuit but not from other ground pins on the same circuit?