Hacking an induction burner

I’ve been homebrewing beer for 20+ years, all on my stovetop. I’d like to be more precise about it, so I was thinking of hacking an induction burner to use for a mash tun - this requires holding the temperature at a steady point for fixed periods of time, and depending on how complex you want to get, ramping the temps up and down at fixed intervals. Seems like an ideal project for an arduino, and there are even a handful of arduino and pi based setups out there that address certain aspects of this.

What I’d like to do is replace the control circuitry on a cheap 1800W induction burner. Looking at how these work, it seems like a fairly simple process: remove the existing circuit and replace it with relays as necessary to turn on and off the induction element. A thermocouple would be used to monitor temps, and the arduino would fire up and turn off the heat as necessary.

My question is: is there an induction burner anyone can recommend that’s easy to hack? That is, something that’s physically easy to work with, and that has enough room inside to fit an Arduino Uno (though I could go smaller if necessary), and the necessary relay(s)? I’d like to keep it neat, so that everything is self contained inside the burner’s existing enclosure.

One other possibility is putting everything in an external enclosure. The induction burner gets hardwired to go on any time the power is plugged in (bypassing its control circuits), and my external box just turns the power on/off. It would have an outlet built in, and the induction burner would be plugged into that.

Thanks!

-perry

Do you really just want to turn the burner off and on? Wouldn't it be better to be able to control the voltage/current to the heater?