Help/Advice/Parts list for Analog LED Matrix Clock

Hi there!
I have an ambitious project in mind. I want to make an LED matrix clock that shows the time with simulated hands. The LEDs would be set in rays radiating from the center. The "hands" would be lit rays of light. The seconds would be a row that moves around.
I've already figured out that I need 720 LEDs.
I want to individually wire the LEDs so that I can program in things other than the clock hands such as patterns activated by sound.
BTW I am a total NEWB and am learning from scratch. I am also completely insane and always try things way over my head. I am using the AdaFruit Experimenter kit right now to begin my learning curve but this is the project I WANT to work up to.
My questions

1. Can someone help me narrow down a materials list?
    What breadboard would you use?
    What gage wire and an estimate on how much needed? I'm looking at about 30 inch Diameter Clock
    What Controller/Processor might be recommended? I know I need enough memory to control all those LEDs but how much.

2. Programming will, of course, be a challenge. Any ideas to get me on the right road? I see there are modules for the digital clocks that people build. Can these be adapted to output what I am looking for with the simulated hands?
    I attach a picture of the LED layout. In my current design I would use RGB LEDs. The blue circle is the hour hand, the red is the second sweep, and the white is the full length minute hand. I would want a secondary program to run other patterns in the matrix.
    Thank you for your help in planning out this project!

Hi Pixmanny!

Take a lok at Adafruit's Neopixel clock. It's a similar device on a less grandiose scale. Here's a link:

Chris

ps, look also at this current thread: Guidance for Arduino Controlled Multi- LED Radial Matrix

It seems to be similar, or at least orthogonal.

ChrisTenone:
Hi Pixmanny!