Help! arduino controlling dc motor speed

Hi I'm new to arduino and would like to control the speed of the dc motor by using a npn transister and the pwm output pin. I have a arduino uno (freetronics clone)

Here is my schematic:

The NPN transitor i'm using is the TIP122 NPN Transistor
http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/TIP120-7.pdf

The motor is a 12v dc motor, i cant find the link for the specifcations for it but i know it uses 12v, has 2.7kg/cm torque and spins at about 11000 rpm

the problem is, when i hook this up, nothing happens, the motor does not spin at all. I have made sure i uploaded the sketch to my arduino uno, Im using pin 10 which is a pwm output pin. I am stumped here, many guides for controlling motor speed with arduino have similar schematics to this. I have used analogWrite(255) etc and even digitalWrite(10, HIGH) but the motor does not run at all. I have checked and the transistor is capable of much more current than required and the motor is being supplied with a 12v battery which should be enough.

So i am asking anyone out there, what am i doing wrong? thanks alot

Did you connect transitor ground and Arduino ground together? If not do it.

You can test the circuit without arduino by connecting 5V between transistor ground (-) and the 1kohm base resitor (+). 3 AA batteries will do it

yes i have conneced the arduino ground pins to the negative terminal of the battery, the transistor ground was also connected tot he negative terminal of the battery. There is 3 groudn pnis on my arduino i ahve tried with each different ground pin connected to the battery aswell.

thnaks for the quick reply i wil test the circuit with 3 AA batteries now!