Npn transistor circuit [Solved]

Ok so I am new to electronics and trying to figure out how to use an npn transistor to control a dc motor. I was looking through tutorials and pretty sure I did everything right but when I connect the battery to the leads it just runs at full rpm when in arduino code I just set it to 0 so that I would know if it worked. I have a resistor hooked up to base pin and pin 9 on arduino and emitter hooked to + rail and motor with collector hooked to - rail and motor(I htink) I flipped the transistor since the middle pin is base to see if it would make a difference and it didnt. I also thought if I had it the wrong way maybe it burnt it out so I just got another one and still no dice. I have a 9volt battery and 6volt motor, the transistor is 40v 600ma. Any help would be appreciated.

Motor goes between + rail and Collector.

Emitter goes to Arduino Ground and - rail.

I also thought if I had it the wrong way maybe it burnt it out

Swapping the collector and emitter of a transistor will not damage it. In fact it will still work as a transistor but with rubbish gain.
However get the base wrong and you can damage it if too much current flows.

Are you sure you are using NPN ? your connections sound like for as PNP and that would need "negative logic" so indeed with "0% PWM" you would be getting 100% output

Well it looks like I have everything wired correctly so I'm stumped why it wont work, would it just allow current through if there is no programming behind it? I just took a bunch of pics and one of the prog, It has a bunch commented out but I tried that as well and it didn't slow or speed it up so that I would know if 0 meant full speed it is NPN. Also I found this interesting I put my arduino from pin 9 to the base and didn't have it plugged into computer and it powered my arduino, should it do that? That would mean the 9volt was powering it and that doesnt sound good?