Help figuring out what stuff to use for project and how to do it

Hello all! My name is Carbon Phoss and I currently working on making a Ray gun replica. So, I am looking to make a custom circuit board that is able to provide sound effects and control 2 different motors in the prop. This is also why I am avoiding things like SD cards for the sound effects, since I want to make the board as small as possible.

So I am basically looking for chips that are able to have sound triggered as well being able to control mini motors.For sound I have a chip by Nuvoton called ISD2360, but I have had no luck in figuring out how to actually program the thing.

I am kinda new to this whole circuitry stuff, so I’d really appreciate any suggestions you might have to offer. Thanks for reading!

The current, incomplete data sheet on the ISD2360 is dated 2012. Do you have a link to an up to date data sheet? Are you using the chip in a stand-alone circuit or connected to a host controller?

Your requirement for the project to be "as small as possible" can get REALLY, REALLY, expensive. Are you sure you want to go there?

Can we assume an Arduino is somewhere in your project?

Paul

IMHO... using a micro SD card/socket is NOT a big deal.. and shouldnt take up any more room than your original board of choice.

Here is an example of a custom board I made. (next to an Uno with WaveShield stacked on top)

Its basically an Arduino UNO and Adafruit Waveshield merged into one board.. using all SMD components..

(all made in my 'lab' using a $17 toaster oven from Wal-Mart.. and some pcbs I designed and got fab'd from some China pcb house)

So it gives my my base Arduino/brain.. and Audio (.wav) file playback..

What you do NOT see is... there is a micro SD card/socket on the bottom.. to not only hold my .wav files.. but it also holds .txt files.. that has parameters to set-up my program/sketch in 'custom' ways..

Its very easy to swap audio files this way as well.