Help Me Learn About Batteries in Relation to Arduino

Forgive me in advance, this may be a pretty stupid couple questions. I am new to Arduino and everything about wiring, and I recently had an idea for a very simple project… The thing is, I’m not sure if I can power it the way I want to.

The build is a necklace. In my head, I wanted the necklace to contain an Arduino Mini board (or the smallest board available) and a single LED, and the LED would simply cycle in brightness to “pulse” between a minimum and maximum brightness level.

However, it is a necklace (therefore small). For this build to work the way I want it to without trailing an obvious wire in to an external battery pack, I would have to use very small batteries (I was thinking cell/watch/hearing aid batteries). In the research I have done, it seems that I could not use such small batteries for any meaningful length of time, even for powering just the one LED and the board.

So I have two questions:

1. Am I correct in assuming that I could not power the Arduino Mini and one LED with one or two cell batteries? If so, what sort of battery would be the minimum I would need to power these for around 3 hours?

2. Any suggestions where I could learn more about batteries, power requirements, and Arduino board-specific power requirements? Honestly I’ve been reading through some of these forum posts about power draw and batteries, and I’m still not sure how to figure out the specs of boards and specific batteries and what they mean.

You should have a look at Nick Gammon's power saving tutorial

...R

Thanks for that resource! I did some looking around in there, and I don't know what a lot of it means yet, but I think I am a bit closer to the answer.