Help understanding ISP programming, bootloading, cores, USB to serial

I am trying to learn to embed AVR’s into my own projects without a commercial Arduino board and have them easily reprogrammed by another, less experienced user with updates I provide. Here is a little background and several questions. I’ve been doing a lot of reading but getting more confused. I think I need more of an overview before diving into the details of avrdude. Thanks in advance for your help.

Background:
I started learning to program embedded controllers with an Arduino Uno a few weeks ago. That went very smoothly. I then wanted to use AVR’s standalone or in a minimal Arduino configuration in my own hacking projects; e.g. R/C camera controller, coupling an off-the-shelf timer to a wireless light controller, etc.

I ordered a couple of ATMEGA328p’s with the bootloader and a couple of ATtiny85’s bare from Spark Fun.

I was able to use the MIT HLT ATtiny85 tutorial to program the 85 on a breadboard without any problems using Arduino as an ISP. I can’t figure out how to do the same with the 328. But, of course I am able to program the 328 (since it has the bootloader) by placing it in the Arduino socket.

I just received an AVR Dragon and will begin learning to use it.

So here are my questions. If there is not a “?” I’m looking for confirmation that my thinking is correct.

I want to have a standard programming interface (usb or 2x3 ISP headers) on my projects so that an end user can plug to the USB port on their PC and upload new firmware that I post or email to them. The key points seem to be:

Bootloader to elliminate continued need for hardware programmer
i. I can buy a bootloaded chip or bootload it with my hardware programmer and then routine firmware updates can be done without the programmer using serial programming.
ii. I was able to program the ATtiny85 because the Arduino as ISP sketch made the Arduino function as a hardware programmer.