Help with pressure differential sensor

Hi folks,

I'm working on a project using an MPX2010DP pressure differential sensor, and just trying to wrap my head around how it works. I've hooked it up to a basic circuit - seen below - but unfortunately the serial monitor is giving me a stagnant reading. I'm new to hardware and arduino, so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, but I have no clue what. Would really appreciate any help!

Here is the datasheet: https://www.jaycar.com.au/medias/sys_master/images/images/9497615138846/ZD1904-dataSheetMain.pdf

Here is my code:

const int sensorPin = A1;

void setup(){
pinMode(sensorPin,INPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
analogRead(sensorPin);
Serial.println(sensorPin);
}

The data sheet says that the full scale span (output at 10kPa) is 25mV. That sensor will need to be amplified to be read by an Arduino ADC.

And the supply voltage is specified as 10VDC.

Here is a sensor that will be a better match for use with a 5V Arduino (Uno).
It is 10kPa full scale and the supply voltage is 5V. Output is 0.2V to 4.7V. No amplification needed.

2 Likes

OOPS...

void loop(){
  analogRead(sensorPin);
  Serial.println(sensorPin);
}

You missed a bit...
You need to read that analogRead into a variable then print that value, not the pin number!

2 Likes

Can't believe ground fungus didn't catch that. He must be tired tonight.

Here, looks like this..

void loop(){
  int reading;                       // Somewhere to store the reading..
  reading  = analogRead(sensorPin);  // Get the reading from the pin.
  Serial.println(reading);           // Then output the reading.
}

-jim lee

1 Like

What is your sensor hooked up to? Code errors aside, I'd expect a differential sensor to give the same value with nothing connected to it, since there would be no difference in pressure.

1 Like

Hey we all missed this one.

Loose the pinMode() for the Analog pin. Silly rabbit, pinMode() is for digital pins.

-jim lee

1 Like