How can I build an RGB LED Ambilight clone with 9 meters of LEDs?

Hi there,

I'd like to build an Ambilight clone where the colour of my LED strip lights change to match the main colour shown on my screen. However, instead of using a few inches of LED strip around the screen like most tutorials show, I have about 9 meters around the ceiling. I'm pretty new to Arduino, so want to get it right, but have not been able to find a tutorial with exactly what I need. I'm hoping someone brainy out there can help me out with adapting one.

Here's a video similar to what I'm aiming for:

And the tutorial showing how to achieve it:

Specifications/limitations
There are three differences between the above example and what I'm trying to do:

• The LED strip on my ceiling is not programmable. It's just a simple RGB colour changing one where all the LEDs have to be the same colour at the same time. This means that the Ambilight will need to be a single colour - a colour to match the main colour shown on screen.
  • I have 9 meters of LED strip lights rather than a few inches. These are positioned on the ceiling rather than behind the screen and are all linked together in one long 9-meter strip.
  • I play videos through a PC using XBMC rather than through a TV. Ideally, I'd also like this to work when using the XBOX if possible!

Components already bought

What other components do I need?
My first challenge (I think?!) is to plan and buy the correct hardware! I've used this example Jerome Bernard: RGB Led Strip controlled by an Arduino to figure out what I need and I'd be grateful if you could check whether I'm about to order the correct/best things:

• Arduino Uno
  • Three N-Channel MOSFETs (one per colour - R, G, B)
  • Three resistors (one per MOSFET)

If this is correct, what type of MOSFET would I need, based on the details I've provided above, and how is this calculated?
Also, what size resistors would I need?