How can I get a smooth signal from a chaotic audio one?

My goal is to make a led fade in the rythm of music. I've connected one channel the analog pin on the arduino UNO throught a capacitor and a resistance. However I have 2 issues:

1: My audio signal vary betwen around 150 and 500 bits

2: It oscillates a lot so my led would turn on and off (I want to make it fade)

How can I make it vary betwen 0 and 255 and make it more smooth (to not oscillate that hard)? And Which components should I use exactly? I'm a newbie on this subject.

...You didn't show us your schematic and you didn't show us your code.

What's connected? Is it a microphone board? A line-level or headphone-level signal?

Is the signal biased? I'm guessing no... Typically you bias the input (most microphone boards are biased) because the Arduino can't read the negative half of the AC audio waveform. Then you can subtract-out the bias in software. Negative voltages can actually damage the Arduino, and/or the signal can be "damaged" (distorted).

1: My audio signal vary betwen around 150 and 500 bits

I'm guessing that's the result of analogRead()? That's not "bits", it's a regular-old integer.

2: It oscillates a lot so my led would turn on and off (I want to make it fade)

Of course the raw-sampled audio data will "look random." You are sampling a waveform that swings between positive and negative, and since it's positive half the time and negative half the time it has an average value of zero. So typically, you'd find the peaks, the average (or moving average) of the peaks, or the average of the absolute value, or the average of the positive values, etc.

How can I make it vary betwen 0 and 255

Once you get useful readings you can use the map() function to get 0-255. Look at the Smoothing Example for smoothing.

DVDdoug: What's connected? Is it a microphone board? A line-level or headphone-level signal?