How long will a 9V alkaline battery power my circuit (Arduino, DHT11, ESP8266)?

Hello all,

I am using Arduino UNO, DHT 11, and ESP8266 WiFi module to measure temperature and humidity in a room every 15 seconds and sending it to ThingSpeak website for storage. I connected the Arduino to a 9V alkaline (from Amazon) battery to power my project.

What I want to know: I need to estimate how long will my project last with a single 9V battery hooked up to the Arduino board. I basically need an autonomous system to collect data.

What I researched so far: People on the web suggest breaking the circuit and measuring the current flowing through the circuit. Then knowing mAh of the battery, I can get a rough estimate of the running time.

What I need help with: Can I actually do what is suggested above? If so, where exactly do I break the circuit? If not, what other techniques can be used to estimate the time?

*** I am looking for a detailed answer here. I am new to Arduino and trying to learn as much as I can.

*** I have included a picture of my circuit and a multimeter that I have on hands.

An update: This is just a test project. For those of you suggesting how to approach things - the actual project is to monitor the weight (later on volume as well) of a compost bin and send that data to a server. So if you have suggestions about load sensors, I am all ears. Thank you.

Hook it up and let the battery run down.
Time how long it takes.

with the wifi module probably not very long, i would try to make it wake up with wifi module just before it sends the data then go back to sleep. im not sure if the energizer ultimate lithium would do you any better.

you would need to know how much current everything uses and what the capacity of you specific battery is. then you can do the math and get a rough estimate.

Why the Uno. The ESP is on it's own is more powerful then the Uno. An ESP and DHT could run on ~3.3volt, and sleep between transmissions. Leo..