how to blink a light

i'm fairly new to microcontrollers, i took 1 coarse where we made a digital clock but there was no programming involved, just a microcontroller and a pulse signal that we used as a counter. i'm looking to control a load lets say its an LED. i need to turn the led on for aproximately 1 second then off, then on for 2 seconds then off and not have it repeat. but i need to adjust the time down because it won't be exactly 1 or 2 seconds. it will be a trial and error, any ideas on how i could do this? if you can tell me how to do this i also need to program it into a stand-alone circuit if someone could help me with that as well. i've ordered my arduino and i'm expecting it soon i was hoping to get started as soon as i get it. any input is appreciated

chevyboy: i'm fairly new to microcontrollers, i took 1 coarse where we made a digital clock but there was no programming involved, just a microcontroller and a pulse signal that we used as a counter. i'm looking to control a load lets say its an LED. i need to turn the led on for aproximately 1 second then off, then on for 2 seconds then off and not have it repeat. but i need to adjust the time down because it won't be exactly 1 or 2 seconds. it will be a trial and error, any ideas on how i could do this? if you can tell me how to do this i also need to program it into a stand-alone circuit if someone could help me with that as well. i've ordered my arduino and i'm expecting it soon i was hoping to get started as soon as i get it. any input is appreciated

Well the first project just about all of do is the blink example (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Blink). There are two delays in the code, the first delay is how long the LED is lit, and the second delay is how long light is off. A usual way to tune the two delays is bring up the code in the IDE, just change the values, and reload it to the Arduino.