How to choose a Multimeter?

Hi.
I'm new to electronics and Arduino, and so I was recently considering getting a multimeter but I know nothing about it.
How do I choose one? Will any on ebay do? I know, there are all kinds of differences between then, and price ranges, but is there anything that I need to know before buying one? Will they all work with low voltage... etc?

Thanks!

Welcome on the forum,

Even the $5 ones are pretty good these days and they won't cost you an arm to buy three or so.

Would save my money for a logic analyzer like - https://www.saleae.com/

Some of the more expensive units can log readings to your PC.
For just starting out, one between 20-30 dollars is usually good enough.

I started electronics recently and bought a $4 multimeter off aliexpress with free shipping. Feature-wise, it's fine. The only feature I miss having is an audible beep when testing connectivity. Just means I have to keep looking back at the multimeter when testing connections on a circuit.

Only issue is that the build quality isn't great. I had to resolder where the leads connect to the multimeter (no big deal) and buy new (better quality) leads when one of those failed (another $2).

Overall I'm pretty happy with this multimeter. I didn't have the budget for a flash one and this got me going and does everything it needs to do.

El cheapo multimeters are OK for beginners using low voltage. I prefer my Fluke for mains voltage as I fear for the safety of a meter costing $5. At least I know the Fluke is safe at mains voltage.

Weedpharma

The only feature I miss having is an audible beep when testing connectivity.

That is the main downside to the harbor freight "free with any purchase" multimeters I use. It is rare I need to use my better multimeter, usually for the "beep" capability when trouble shooting.

Look for the features that you're most likely to use.