How to get 2.2 TFT work on Arduino mega 2560

Hi everyone,

First of all sorry for my bad english.

I am new to arduino world and have got my self "2.2 Serial SPI TFT Color LCD Module" LINK

After reciving the product I discoverd that the display works on 3.3v Logic and that my arduino (arduino mega2560) ouput pins are 5v.
I have been trying to find solution on google, but without luck.

My problem is that I don't have level shifters (I orderd few but its going to take 2 weeks until it arrives).
From my understanding I can make my own level shifter using Resistors to make the screen work. But how I don't know. I found few small pictures, not clear enough to see what happends.

One of the store comments says: "...Use 47K resistors for connections to all the ports (MISO, MOSI, RST, CS, CD) because the board is 3.3V and Arduino is 5V by default. Connect Vcc and LED to the 3.3V connector...", I tried this but did not work for me. Some also say use 4.7k resistor istead of 47k.

So, thats why i decided to ask help from you guys. Could someone please help me out.

"How to get 2.2 TFT work on Arduino mega 2560 without level shifter(s)" ?

Thank you all in advance!

Firstly that display will not work with 5V logic even with series protection resistors.

You must either:

• Use a 3.3V Arduino
  • Use level shifters

You may find my Instructable here a good starting point. You have the "2.2" TFT QVGA 240x320" display and hence need to use that library.

For the Mega you will need to change the sketch to use different pins to the UNO and wire them up in place of the referenced UNO pins:

#define sclk 52

#define mosi 51

#define cs x

#define dc y

#define rst z

Where x y and z are digital pins you choose.

The trick with Google searches (for minority topics like this one) is to select the search words carefully!

rowboteer:
Firstly that display will not work with 5V logic even with series protection resistors.

*snip