How to go about reading real time data over USB to a PC /MAC?

Hello!

I am brand new to Arduino, but am excited for the possibility. I have not even touched it yet but am planning my first project.

I have never messed with Arduino or similar things before so this is all new to me, but I do have a computer science degree and a few years of programming expreiencce beyond that, so I don't think software would be a problem if I am able to look up stuff.

Anyway here is what I plan on doing.

I want a laser and sensor to act as a tripwire so I can be notified when someone enters or leaves my room. The laser part seems easy enough but all the tutorials just connect it to a simple counter.

I was originally looking at a wifi or enthernet shield but they are expensive and I don't want to spend a lot.

So is there a way I can just get the data over USB? I assume there is but I don't really know a way to go about this. And then whenever the even is triggered software I write on the computer will send me an email or something.

Any suggestions? Is this a dumb plan?
Thank you!

Simple project.
If you can count the laser beam breaks, you can do a simple
Serial.print( "alarm" ); // send some text in ASCII
or
Serial.write( alarm ); // send a number
instead that goes out to the PC and the PC can then do whatever.

I can't help on the PC side, I've only used the Serial Monitor in the IDE.

Are you married to the laser part? It's unnecessary and potentially someone could get blinded for life.

Suppose you get notice on the net? What you do then? Set up a hidden DVR and record the intruder.

An html module costs less than $10 if you shop around. There's a direct relation between board size and product cost that does not favor lightly populated shields. Look around for sport DVR's on eBay.

On the PC side have a look at processing.org. That is the PC language (a Java variant) that Arduino was made to match. They code similarly but there's some differences.