How to pick the right antenna for LoRa?

Hi

I just boughtthis LoRa shield. As you can see, there is an SMA antenna connection (but no antenna included). I am rather new to wireless stuff, so what sort of antenna should I buy? I really have no clue where to start looking...

Buy any SMA antenna that is correct for the frequency you will be using.

bestanamnetnogonsin: Hi

I just boughtthis LoRa shield. As you can see, there is an SMA antenna connection (but no antenna included). I am rather new to wireless stuff, so what sort of antenna should I buy? I really have no clue where to start looking...

Google for antennas that match the frequency range of the unit you have. Quote from the web site" Frequency Band: 915 MHZ/868 MHZ/433 MHZ (Pre-configure in factory)".

Paul

So really any SMA antenna will do, as long as it says 434 Mhz on the label?

bestanamnetnogonsin: So really any SMA antenna will do, as long as it says 434 Mhz on the label?

SMA refers to the coax connector on the coax cable. Has NOTHING at all to do with the antenna, except to connect to it.

If your unit is set for 434, then any antenna said to be tuned for that frequency will work. The coax between the antenna and the open end must have a SMA connector to fit your board.

Paul

So how do I know what "shape" is best?

If you have a look on eBay you find 20 different types...

Is this one any good?

Or might one like this or like this one be even better?

I am looking for maximum range. Size isn't important

Try several and pick the best one. Hint: eBay is the last place I would look for high quality antennas:

|500x375 (Note: adjust antenna angle for best reception).

http://scanlime.org/2011/05/another-reason-to-beware-bargain-basement-bluetooth/

bestanamnetnogonsin:
I am looking for maximum range. Size isn’t important