How to use servo.read() to turn a LED on?

Hi! I'm new at Arduino... I'm working on a project: I want to use the angle of a servo motor to turn a LED on. I have read and I know that I have to use servo.read() but it's not working and I don't know why. I'll be so gratefull if someone could help me.

#include <Servo.h> //libreria para controlar el servo

const int LEDPinV = 6;        // pin para el LED verde
const int PIRPin = 2;         // pin de entrada (for PIR sensor)
Servo servoMotor;

void setup() 
{
   pinMode(LEDPinV, OUTPUT);  
   servoMotor.attach(9);
   Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  servoMotor.write(0);
  delay(2000);
  servoMotor.write(180);
  delay(2000);

angle = servoMotor.read();

if (angle == 0){digitalWrite(LEDPinV, LOW); }// turn LED OFF
     if (angle == 180){digitalWrite(LEDPinV, HIGH); } // turn LED ON
}

Servo.read() returns the last value you set with Servo.write(). So in your code you always get 180. Servo.read() is quite useless, because you should know what you last set with Servo.write().
What do you really want to achieve?

1 Like

Can't get the exact point, especially because "it's not working" is not enough to let us understand what you get and what you want!

Your code (even if it won't compile, so please always post the actual and full code, not just some lines manually typed!) asks the motor to move to 0 degrees, next waits 2 seconds, then gives the command to move it to 180 degrees, and waits another 2 seconds before reading the servo angle: what angle do you expect to have when you read it after that?
Depending on servo speed, the only probable angle will be 180 degrees, so the LED will be constantly on (your code will be executed continuously because you put it inside loop!).