I need to connect a lcd to an arduino without potentiometer.

I don't have a potentiometer at the moment, I have a few 1k resistors and a few 470 ohm resistors and I need to wire a lcd to arduino, I am a beginner - can anyone help me with proper circuit diagram, I tried the arduino lcd tutorial, nothing happened to the lcd.

Please, it's kinda urgent.

Thanks in advance.

The potentiometer is usually just for contrast control. Wire two of your 1K resistors end-to-end and put them in place of the contrast pot (the middle connection is the ‘wiper’). That should get you close enough to display stuff on the LCD. To 'fine tune" you can add a 1K or 470 resistor in parallel with one of the two sides of your ‘contrast pot’ to turn the contrast up or down. One of the five combinations of resistors should get you fairly good contrast:

±–1K—±–1K/470—+
±–1K—±–1K/1K—+
±–1K—±–1K—+
±–1K/1K—±–1K—+
±–1K/470—±–1K—+

The fixed values that work for me are a 4K7 resistor Vcc--> contrast pin (3) and a 330R resistor contrast pin (3) --> Gnd. (from an LCD display kit sold by PH Anderson)
The contrast pin wants to be at +.5 to +1V for "normal' LCD's and a small negative voltage for the "Extended Temp Range" LCD's.. 99% of all lcd's are of t'he common' type. HTH..

Bob

That should get you close enough to display stuff on the LCD.

I think that most LCDs will be blank with 2.5 v on pin 3.

I would start out by just connecting pin 3 to GND and see if the resulting display is adequate. It works quite well for my ancient Optrex displays.

In most cases you will need around 0.5 V or less on pin 3. This means that you need less than 1/10 of the 5 Volt supply that is usually used to drive the LCD controller and therefore your voltage divider resistance ratio should also be less than 1:10 with the lower resistance side between pin 3 and GND.