Ignition coil driver

Hi everyone!

In my starting sequencer manager based around an Arduino, I need to trigger (switch?) @ 20Hz a high voltage ignition coil. It is an automotive type, plain and simple.

Using an arduino output, I made this simple schematic and would like your feedback on it.
I know there are plenty of circuits out there but I can’t seem to find an explanation / a universal solution and would like to understand why this or that would work or not.

So I based it around a 4N35 optocoupler and a IRF640 MOSFET.
Obviously I’m still a rookie in electronics but I’m trying :slight_smile:

Here are two of my interrogations :

• some people say the MOSFET with it’s flyback diode will impede the coil to spark as the current will go through the diode and not be shut completely, thus not creating the spark.
  • Can’t I use a TRIAC? They seem to be cheaper and have higher voltage ratings for the same price
  • Some of the 4N35 I’ve seen have 6 pins and one connected to base of the phototransistor, I thought this wasn’t connected?

Thanks for your help!

Marc

One problem with using an opto isolator to drive the mosfet is that ordinary opto isolators turn off rather slowly. This might affect the strength of the spark.

I believe that the usual way to drive an ignition coil these days is with an IGBT. See for example Automotive - Infineon Technologies. You cannot use a triac in this circuit, because you can't turn a triac off except by reducing the current through it to near zero.. Capacitor-discharge ignition systems used to (and perhaps still do) use an SCR.

The intrinsic body diode in a MOSFET will indeed soak up the power that would have gone into a spark on the secondary.

The secondary of the ignition coil (remember its a transformer or autotransformer) will
arc before the primary exceeds a particular voltage. Just ensure the Vds of the MOSFET
or IGBT is greater than this and it'll work.

Use a MOSFET driver chip like the MIC4422, not an opto isolator?