Increasing probability with a number

Hi,
This is my first post so you can tell I'm a noob.
I have an idea of a project which takes a number read from a file and then outputs.

However this is where I'm stuck, I want this number to increase the probability of outputting as it gets larger.
Although I'll only have one output so it is either on or off.

The number won't be larger than 100.
My idea was to divide the number by 10 and round up or down. Then generate a number between 1 and 10 and compare it to the divided number.

This is kinda hard to explain so an example.
The number is 34
Divided by 10 = 3.4 (rounded down to 3)
Then it will generate a number and if it is greater than 3 it will be off and if its less than or equal to, it would activate the output.

Is this feasible? And is there any better way to do it?
Thanks,

Why bother dividing by 10 when you could just compare 34 to 30. Using integers is a lot faster on an Arduino.

I think you need to give us a few examples that illustrate how the size of the number affects things.

...R

An Internet search for something like "generating random numbers with arbitrary distribution" would get you started. e.g. Randomly Generating Numbers with an Arbitrary Distribution

Your first problem is describing the arbitrary distribution you desire, but once that is solved, there are well defined algorithms to do so.

What do you mean by "probability"? You will need to define that clearly before you can write a computer program.

For example, the weatherman defines the probability of rain as follows:

if the chance of rain is 10% today, on about 10 days out of 100 just like this one, it will rain and on about 90 it will not.

Robin2:
Why bother dividing by 10 when you could just compare 34 to 30. Using integers is a lot faster on an Arduino.

I think you need to give us a few examples that illustrate how the size of the number affects things.

...R