Interfacing a PS2 barcode scanner with Arduino

Hey everyone,

To introduce myself, I'm new to Arduino, haven't gotten myself a kit yet but I'm very interested in it!

I was thinking about building a project that is able to scan and verify barcodes.
Let's say I have got a list of decoded barcode strings saved in a .txt file on a FAT formatted SD card, like this:

code1
code2
code3

Now lets say the barcode scanner scanned a barcode that decodes to the string "code1", it would be sent to Arduino and compared to the contents of the .txt file. If it exists, a green LED turns on and deletes the line so I know it's been scanned. If it doesn't a red LED turns on to indicate the barcode is unknown.

Now I've looked at:
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/PS2Keyboard
(Remove spaces)
From there I should be able to catch the data sent by the scanner.

Using this:
http://www.ladyada.net/make/waveshield/
(Remove spaces)
I should be able to read from a SD card.

The only problem is that I'm not familiar with the Arduino coding language AT ALL. So I was just wondering, would this project be possible using Arduino?

Thanks!

First, you've made your first post. Now, you can modify it. Fix the links so that they actually work.

Second, tell us more about this barcode scanner. How would the barcode information get sent to the Arduino?

How would new scanned data get added to the card?

Would this be possible? Depends on the barcode scanner. Sounds like fun, though.

Yes, this project is certainly possible using Arduino.

As PaulS says, it depends on what kind of barcode scanner you have. If you have one with a PS/2 connector, you are ready to use the PS/2 keyboard library that you already found. If your scanner has a USB connector, you will likely want to get an adapter like the one at http://sewelldirect.com/USB-to-PS2-Adapter.asp to convert it to PS/2 format.