IR Beam Based Object Crossing Detector

Hi, I am trying to make an IR beam that when crossed/broken triggers something to happen. I was thinking of using IR LED's and IR photodiodes like this.

I am struggling on how this gets wired to an arduino and what else I need such as resistors, etc. The thought is the IR LED could be on all the time and the sketch would poll the photodiode and determine when the beam was broken.

I am a bit of a noob so not sure the direction to go. I see a bunch of photodiode stuff out there but it seems more about proximity / distance and everyone seems to take a different approach. Some thoughts or guidance would be appreciated!

heatvent:
Hi, I am trying to make an IR beam that when crossed/broken triggers something to happen. I was thinking of using IR LED's and IR photodiodes like this.

I am struggling on how this gets wired to an arduino and what else I need such as resistors, etc. The thought is the IR LED could be on all the time and the sketch would poll the photodiode and determine when the beam was broken.

I am a bit of a noob so not sure the direction to go. I see a bunch of photodiode stuff out there but it seems more about proximity / distance and everyone seems to take a different approach. Some thoughts or guidance would be appreciated!

I just Googled "ir led circuit" and found a bunch of images that show schematics. Looks like the second one will certainly do what you want.

Paul

That is only a photo diode so the output is tiny and it needs amplifying before the signal will be big enough for an Arduino to detect. Also the range of this beam will be quite small.

For an example of what you need to do is in this project:- Sneak Thief

If you want a bigger range then you need to use a TSSOP 4038 for a reciever and you will need to modulate ( switch on and off at 38KHz ) your LED. That gets you the sort of range of a TV remote.

Couldn't you drain an INPUT_PULLUP through that photodiode?