Is utils/atomic.h available for EPS8266?

I have some code that works fine on my UNO with ethernet shield. I’m trying to update the installation to use a NodeMCU v3 clone that utilizes the EPS8266 Wemos board. In order to use this module, I updated from Arduino 1.6.1 to 1.6.7. The code still compiles for the UNO but when I try switching the board type to “NodeMCU 1.0 (EPS-12E module)” I get the following error:

Build options changed, rebuilding all
C:\Users\Ben\Documents\Arduino\ookDecoder-ben\ookDecoder-ben9\ookDecoder-ben9.ino:3:25: fatal error: util/atomic.h: No such file or directory

#include <util/atomic.h>

^

compilation terminated.

exit status 1
Error compiling.

I switched back to UNO and compiled again successfully, so this is clearly an issue with the selected board. Does the EPS8266 work with the atomic.h library or is that a different version I should locate? I’m brand new to the EPS8266 (delivered yesterday), so I am not sure yet if there’s a better location to ask these Arduino IDE questions to other than here.

so I am not sure yet if there's a better location to ask these Arduino IDE questions to other than here.

The problem isn't with the IDE. The problem is with either the core files delivered for the ESP thing OR with the sample code delivered with some library.

Why do you think you need to include atomic.h?

The code I'm trying to use on the NodeMCU is a 433MHz RF receiver/decoder for several systems (Blueline power meter reader, Acurite weather station, Acurite temperature sensor).