Issue with 7809 1.5A Linear Voltage Regulator

Hello,

I've been using a voltage regulator (which has a heat sink) to try and convert a 12V power supply into 9V to power a few motors. I need a little over 1A of current. However, the current seems to be maxing out at about 0.6A when I use the voltage regulator. The motors with the same circuiting work fine when I use a 9V supply with a max of about 1.2A and don't use the voltage regulator.

Does anyone know what the issue could be here? This is my first time using a voltage regulator.

Thanks

please post schematics. Is the regulator getting hot?

The 1.5A rating doesn't tell the whole story... The heat/power dissipation usually limits the amount of current you can get.

The good news is that the 79xx regulators are thermally protected so they don't permanently burn-up and die when they get too hot. They just shut-down, or partially shut-down.

It's easy to calculate power dissipation - You're dropping 3V across the regulator at 1.2 Amps, so that's 3V x 1.2A = 3.6 Watts.

What's NOT always easy is calculating the thermal characteristics of the heatsink. You may need a bigger heatsink, or heatsink grease, or a fan (or cooler environment for your heatsink), etc.

Or, one (not very elegant) solution is a separate voltage regulator for each motor.

The best solution is usually a switching (aka "switchmode") regulator. Switching regulators are more complicated so it usually best to buy a complete regulator board, but they are nearly 100% efficient so they don't have the same heat problems.

The efficiency also means that you can get 1.2A out of the regulator with less than 1.2A in (when the voltage is stepped-down).

Voltage regulator short-current protected, limiting output is not gonna to work well with a motor, as it''s need x10 times current at start-up - known as stall current.