Issues with 3x3 Matrix of Reed Switches

Hi,

I am fairly new to electronics and am having some issues with a project I am trying to build that requires a 3x3 matrix of digital reed switches triggered by magnets.

I think I am seeing some issues with the circuit. The output is not as expected. When there are no magnets on the board, the code featured below prints:
1 1 1
1 1 1
1 1 1
And when a magnet is detected on top of a sensor, the state of it turns to 0. However, there are some instances where placing a magnet next to a sensor either doesn't trigger the change from 1 to 0, OR it may trigger others in the same row to turn to 0 even if there is no magnet present. I assume from that that the issue is not in the code, but with the circuit I have built. I may be missing some components like resistors or diodes somewhere maybe?

Here is a schematic and my current code for reference:

#define rows 3 // define number of rows
#define columns 3 //define number of columns

int rowpins[rows] = {4, 3, 2} ; // set row pin numbers
int columnpins[columns] = {10, 9, 8} ; // set column pins
int currentState[rows][columns]; // array for current state during pick
int previousState[rows][columns]; // array for comparing state during pick
int reading[rows][columns]; // array for pin read value

void setup () {

Serial.begin (9600); // Start serial comms
  delay (2000);
  initialise (); // initialise function

}

void loop () {

initialise();

}

void initialise () {

Serial.println ("Board initialising");
  Serial.println (" ");
  delay (2000);
  Serial.println (" ... ");
  Serial.println (" ");
  delay (500);
  Serial.println (" ... ");

for (int i = 0; i < rows; i++) { // Set rows to LOW INPUT
    pinMode (rowpins[i], INPUT_PULLUP);
    digitalWrite (rowpins[i], LOW);
  }

for (int j = 0; j < columns; j++) { // set columns to INPUT with PULLUP
    pinMode (columnpins[j], INPUT);
    digitalWrite (columnpins[j], HIGH);
  }

for (int i = 0; i < rows; i++) {