Keep Frying Boards!

Hey guys,
as alot of people on here are, Im a novice when it comes to arduino
I am making a security system for my barn, code super super simple.
Alarm on button, alarm off button, horn/siren(controlled off 5v relay) , Photoeyesensor.

but for some reason I keep frying arduino boards?
I have the board being powered on 12.37volts,
I send my 12 volts to both my alarm on and alarm off button, and when i recived signal feedback to my input(when one of the buttons is pressed) it procceses whatever function, alarm off button, turn horn off and alarmon = false, alarm on button turn horn off, alarm on = true, and photo eye = LOW. The way the photo eye works is when the beem is broken, voltage comes back to the board and supposed to signall the alarm. I see that arduinos have voltage range on inputs from 7 - 20 volts and Ive fried a few boards now? If enough people care, ill upload a schematic. (I mean this as if it get's enough attention)

Always show us a good schematic of your proposed circuit.
Show us a good image of your ‘actual’ wiring.
Give links to components.

In the Arduino IDE, use Ctrl T or CMD T to format your code then copy the complete sketch.

Use the < CODE / > icon from the ‘posting menu’ to attach the copied sketch.

1 Like

No need for a schematic. That voltage range is only acceptable for the Vin pin(and really should be limited to about 10 volts). The voltage must be pure DC, not some form of AC.

I send my 12 volts to both my alarm on and alarm off button, and when i recived signal feedback to my input(when one of the buttons is pressed)

Your signal inputs must not exceed 5 volts. End of statement.

Let's rephrase that.
Nobody cares if you don't upload a schematic.
Leo..

Very few Arduino boards can power a 5volt relay when powered by 12volt.
The 5volt regulator on the Arduino could overheat if you do.
An option is to use a 12volt relay board.

How much current does the photo sensor use.