Keeping the average speed on display for a Tachometer

Hi All,

I am new to the Arduino community, I am building a Tachometer / Treadmill for my RC car hobby, My intention is to build with a Hall sensor and make the project handheld possible with Li-po battery power.

I got examples from youtube and already have a prototype that's basically working; (Credits to youtube
InterlinkKnight and cbm80amiga)

I am able to get the below information fairly accurately.

• RMP
  • Speed (KM/h) through realtime calculation
  • Timer (counter) starts whenever there is a new rotation.

However I am facing some issues;

1. While the code already handles all the difficult parts of getting RPM (Average and Smoothing) all these values are calculated in real time. I would like to keep the average since the last rotation start on screen, but I don't know how to post such value out of the Loop() where the the Speed is being calculated all the time.

So my first question is "how I may show the average Speed within a certain period (e.g. Last 10 second) and keep it on screen until next rotation start?

1. Although I am able to show the Timer Counter on the bottom, there is an issue with this counter that sometimes if the rotation is pickup in high speed, the timer may
  • Not restart
  • Jumping a few seconds (sometimes jumping to 12/13)

What may I improve to avoid the above?

I am new to the forum and Coding, if my questions or how I ask is not up to forum standard, I apologise.

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(2), Pulse_Event, RISING);

delay(1000);  

// OLED 0.96" Display:
  display.begin(SSD1306_SWITCHCAPVCC, 0x3C);
  display.clearDisplay();
  display.setTextColor(WHITE);
  display.setRotation(0);
  display.setTextWrap(false);
  display.dim(0);

}

void loop()
{
  LastTimeCycleMeasure = LastTimeWeMeasured;  // Store the LastTimeWeMeasured in a variable.
  CurrentMicros = micros();  // Store the micros() in a variable.
  curTime = millis();