LED array and CD4067BE multiplexer

Hi guys

im a complete newbie with arduinos and coding so im wondering if anyone will be able to help me.

I am trying to use an Arduino along with a CD4067BE multiplexer (please find data sheet attached) to create an array of LEDS. I would like to send a voltage to each LED in turn really quickly and loop this over. I also want to record the time as this process takes place.

Does anyone have any example code which I could use for this experiment? I'd appreciate any help thanks!

multiplexer data sheet.pdf (1.02 MB)

Hi and welcome.

Is this a class assignment? Is it allowed to ask people on the internet to do you homework for you these days? When i was at school we weren't allowed to use calculators in exams - times change!

I think you should have a try yourself and we can give you pointers if you go wrong. Try making a schematic too, before you wire anything up and risk burning it. Post that and we can check that also, pencil & paper photo'ed on your phone will be fine.

Paul

Yes, I think we know what a 4067 is, though the datasheet you have cited is for a generally obsolete part.

Now while it is OK to use that - or its enhanced version - for multiplexing your phototransistors, and when we see your circuit schematic we may be able to critique it, it is pretty useless for displaying to LEDs though to be honest, I have done pretty much that some 30 years ago.

But that was long before we had ICs such as the MAX7219 which can control 64 LEDs, or more simply, the TPIC6B595 or even - though it cannot drive the LEDs to a full 20 mA - the humble 74HC595.

{Sorry, PaulRB, I am jumping the gun a bit ...}