Linear CCD

I am thinking about using this Linear CCD (http://www.taosinc.com/ProductDetails.aspx?id=3 , TSL1401R-LF) to measure light input in a colorimeter. I am willing to try other methods of input or other sensors; I am not stuck on this one. This sensor has 128x1 sensor elements, it would be nice to have greater resolution, but I do not want to add needless cost and complexity to the project. The sensor should be under $20 USD.

Can I use the PWM output to control the clock on this chip or will I need a separate clock to run this?

Why do you think you need PWM?

I am new to using anything more complicated than an led and blinking.

Would I be able to use a digital output to clock the CCD sensor? And then use another digital output to start the serial output? And then using an analogue input to collect the data from the sensor after the CCD starts to send data out on its Ao.

The suggestion of the app note is that there is a maximum clock speed, but it specifies no minimum, so any digital output should work as a clock.
This looks a bit of a fun way of getting some form of machine vision - I've not seen this device before.

Hi strateego, as you can see in my signature I have just started to interface an TSL214, its an 64x1 array instead.
From what I have seen from datasheets, they are interfaced in pretty much the same way, so the code should work with minor modifications.

As soon as I have a more or less functional code I will post it to github, now I only have a 500kHz clock working using the Timer1 library.

The speed limiting factor is the ADC conversion on the Arduino, clocking with a digital pin is fine. The device can clock at 8MHz without losing much analog precision - but the Arduino ADC conversion time is about 100us if I remember right - certainly around 3 orders of magnitude slower.

Chiva, I was wondering if you had made any progress on your code?

Hi strateego,