linear motion between switches

hi i am new to all this, i have built a slot mortise to create loose tendon mortise in wood and i want to automate the operation

i want to use a arduino uno and stepper motors to automate the machine

id like to program the machine to alternatively move left and right at a fairly steady rate, on the machine there is two slides that currently limit side to side movement used to set mortise width i would like to add limit switches to each side

the idea is to have a program run a stepper motor in one direction at steady rate until one limit switch is pressed then id like it to change the motor direction and run the other way unit the oppersite switch is pressed then again change direction act ect.

id also like to program a second stepper motor to move the router into the wood at a adjustable rate until that hits another limit switch.

i know how to add lead screw t and all the mechanical business to the jig i just need help buying the electric parts and setting it all up, I've tried to work it our for myself but i am lost

then would it be possible to do this without the need to have a computer alway attached to the machine

any help would be highly appreciated i feel i could get my head around this but i just need a leg up, thanks

possible to do this without the need to have a computer alway attached to the machine

Yes, the Arduino, properly programmed, could handle that easily.

I don't know how much that you know about steppers so here a couple of threads with basic stepper information (thanks to Robin2).
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=284828.0
https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=277692.0

Running back and forth between two switches is basically, step toward switch, check the switch state, step, check, and so in until the switch reads closed, set direction to reverse, step, check other switch, step, check and so on.

What kind of switches are your limit switches?