Low-power table football game detector

I never used an Arduino or a Raspberry Pi before. This is my first project of this kind.

At work we have a table football that is used quite intensively.

I would like to tape up a device hidden below it that would record when games are played. Then, in 6 months, when I would have accumulated enough data, I will publish a statistical analysis of our office's table football activity.

I'm thinking of two ways to sense whether a game is currently played or not: capt vibrations using an accelerometer or record sound (it would be very easy to detect the sound of the ball shocks).

I much prefer the first solution for 2 reasons: (1) lower frequency, so cheaper to store/transfer, (2) I am not recording my colleagues' voices, which could be considered illegal. Also, I imagine an accelerometer uses less power than a microphone, but that might be false.

I am concerned about the power supply of the device. I would like to record for months, without having to recharge the battery too often. I'm willing to buy an external battery, like a TeckNet PowerZen 16750mAh, but I'm not even sure that can be used to charge an Arduino.

So, I have many questions unanswered and I need the experts.

How would YOU do it?

I think one of these vibration sensors would work. You could initially make a temporary measurement unit and take readings of the vibration levels at various places on the table to see what works best and doesn't give you false triggers.

Srijal97:
I think one of these vibration sensors would work. You could initially make a temporary measurement unit and take readings of the vibration levels at various places on the table to see what works best and doesn't give you false triggers.

Great. Someone one reddit told me "You could probably do it with an esp32 and a couple piezo detectors. That would give you longer battery life.". What do you think about esp32 for my case?