Massage chair based on blood pressure

Hello Everyone. I’m a 5th year ECE student and currently on my last semester of studying. Our thesis is a massage chair based on the blood pressure level.

Our first idea is to buy a blood pressure monitor with bluetooth but unfortunately we can’t find one in our country. So we are forced to hack a normal bp monitor so that we can get the data from it and transfer it to our arduino so we can use it in changing the massage speed.

We would deeply appreciate any form of help or tips in hacking our bp monitor to be able to get the measured data from it.

Attached is a picture of our bp monitor. Thank you guys in advanced. Good luck further :slight_smile:

27044573_1722000711164007_2200274_n.jpg

How does the inside of that thing look like? Any place you could possibly hook up to get a signal out of?

If there's no signal output provided by the manufacturer, it's going to be hard to hack. What you could do, though (this is how it can be done - never tried it myself) is to literally hook up to the display, and see which segments are switched on, and read the sensor output that way.

wvmarle:
How does the inside of that thing look like? Any place you could possibly hook up to get a signal out of?

If there’s no signal output provided by the manufacturer, it’s going to be hard to hack. What you could do, though (this is how it can be done - never tried it myself) is to literally hook up to the display, and see which segments are switched on, and read the sensor output that way.

hello! Thank you for the response. I don’t have the bp monitor right now. It’s on one of my groupmates. But i will post an image of it asap. Oh btw we have another choice- image processing. But we have no background of it whatsoever. Can it be done thru image processing and how hard will it be if possible?