First Arduino + Servos, what to buy?

Hi !

I've been lurking at tutorials, projects, .. concerning Arduino for a long time now, and I'm finally buying one. I'm an experienced developer so I don't think software will be a big issue; but I'm completely new to micro-controllers and mechanics.

This is what I'd like my robot to do, simplified: - I turn it on. - I push START, it records the position of the wheels (=the rotation of the servos). - I drive my robot a little further. - I push STOP, it records the position of the wheels (=the rotation of the servos). - I push PLAY, it comes back to the starting place, and plays back the movement. (=it moves back to START, and drives to STOP).

Here's my basket at sparkfun.com: - Arduino Starter Kit - Arduino Protoshield Kit - Tool Kit - Beginner - Beginner Parts Kit - Serial Servo Controller - Servo - Full Rotation (2 - pour les roues) - Serial enabled 20*4 LCD - Potentiometer knob - Rotary encoder

Are there missing or unnecessary things? The LCD + potentiometer would replace the three buttons in my example (Start, Stop, Play).

Do you think it can be done with these components? Also, could my robot take a bend, like this?

The LCD + potentiometer would replace the three buttons in my example (Start, Stop, Play).

Buttons hold shirts closed. Switches can be open or closed, and can communicate information to the Arduino.

An LCD is used to display information. A potentiometer is used, with an Arduino, as a voltage divider device. The center tap will, therefore have varying voltage levels, depending on where the shaft is positioned. The varying voltage can be read by the Arduino, and the changing level can be used for controlling PWM outputs, for instance.

How do you intend to use an LCD and potentiometer to keep your shirt closed? Or did you mean switches? In which case, how will an LCD and potentiometer substitute for 3 switches?