Max7221 - cascading two units for 8x16 array.

Hi,

I've wired up an 8 rows x 16 column LED matrix, cathode to cathode, anode to anode. I tested and I can correctly light up one LED at a time EDIT: I tested by running blink sketch and touching wires to the columns/rows, not with the LED driver connected. I'm new to the MAX7219/7221. Was that the right way to wire it up to control with 2 MAX7221s? Or was I supposed to set it up as two separate 8x8 matrices? Before I continue the project, I just want to be sure I didn't make a wrong assumption.

Also--before I start soldering to the LED controller, how can I quickly check the orientation of the array to make sure I did it properly cathode/anode? I know that it is a diode so light only flows one way, but I get a little confused. The LEDs aren't really visible in the array any more so visual inspection won't work.

Hi. You should wire it as 2 8x8 matrices. It will work with either the anodes or cathodes on the horizontal rows. But it may make it easier or more complex to write your sketch, depending what information you want to display. For example scrolling text would be easier with cathodes in columns.

Paul

Thanks. Is it possible for me to control it with the 8x16 array, or do I need to redo it? It will make my protoboard more crowded.

I don't need to scroll text, this is the ubiquitous word clock project. Discrete groups of LEDs will be lit at a time, but the "matrix" nature of the word clock is just incidentally a convenient way to address 106 LEDs.

You can drive a 16x8 matrix by using transistors & shift registers, but that will require many more components than using 2 max chips.

If you want an 8x16 matrix display and want to keep things very compact and simple, I'd suggest looking at the adafruit LED matrix breakout/backpack.

It is pretty cost effective as well.
This will allow controlling all the LEDs as a single 16x8 matrix.