Measuring Voltage from Solar panel?

Hi everyone, first of all please be patient with me. I’m a complete newbie to arduino and electronics in general :blush:.
I’m trying to build a solar tracker and i’m a little helpless with trying to connect everything together. I have attached a scetch, the way i was thinking it could be done? I have a solar panel, charge controller and a battery and would like to measure the voltage and eventually the current generated by the solar panel with an arduino uno.

Do you think the setup is correct? and i could get a voltage reading? How would i measure the current from the solar panel? Could i do that with the setup i did or would i need one of those current sensor breakout boards?

Measuring the voltage of your solar panel is not very useful. It general it does not change much. The current will vary based on irradiance.

Thanks for the reply. ok, is it possible to measure the current with the voltage divider (R1 & R2)?

To measure current you need a very low resistance between the solar panel and its load. I have 0.005Ohm resistors in series with my panels. You then use Ohms law to calcutale the current based on the voltage measured across the resistor.

With such low resistance the voltage across it will be very small and will need to be amplified before the ADC in an Uno can measure the voltage.

If you have a Mega or a Leonardo it will have the capability for differential ADC meaasurements and includes an amplifier.

...R