Micro-Controller Refractometer

I am new to the programming world, but I come from the Mechanical Engineering world. With that being said, with a project I am working on, I am kind of lost on where to go and what to do. I have the concept of what needs to happen but lack about everything else.

I have been reading on a forum page LED refractometry with Arduino and I get the idea and am trying to do the same thing, but at the same time something different. I am wanting to make an inline refractometer for digital readings, that anyone can log onto the wifi and see through a page, or just an LCD screen that give me brix % of what refraction it reads. I know that I will need an LED, prism, and a CCD get up like the forum i linked. However, I have no clue where to start after I have these things.

I can figure out how to turn the LED on and set it all up mechanically, but im lost on the CCD input/output and how I make the refractometer in whole.

Can anyone help???

Your post was MOVED to its current location as it is more suitable.

Could you also take a few moments to Learn How To Use The Forum.

Other general help and troubleshooting advice can be found here.
It will help you get the best out of the forum in the future.

Hey, I'm the one who started the topic in your link. Last time I had it in my hands I was designing a 3d printed support for the whole setup in a CAD tool with poor results :sweat_smile:, but then I paused it to work on my degree thesis

Based on my experience the whole project is not that hard to set up but you need a good support for the prism, the LED and the CCD, to make sure that the light beam hits the prism at a good angle and distance, and the shadow edge is projected sharply on the CCD. Another crucial point is to process the intensity/pixel signal to extract the shadow edge coordinate.