Mill DRO using rotary encoders and Android for an interface

How's everyone doing? I'm new to the Arduinos and to this forum. I need a little guidance on what I need to get. I came across a PDF document from the Home Metal Shop Club that has some go info. But I want to check and make sure that there's not something a little more up to date. I found this document very interesting. Because back in the day. I made an interface board which connected to the incremental rotary encoders (3600 P) then the parallel port of my PC. I found a program that a guy on the internet shared. Hi s name is Art Eckstein. I believe he did create the program which is DOS based. Which works great. But my computer is getting old and takes up some room. So with all of that being said any info and/or help would be greatly appreciated. The encoders are 3600 resolution. I'm redoing how they are attached and driven/actuated by the machine. This will be done by a GT2-3M timing belt attaching at both ends of each axis. Then the encoders will have a 20T pulley and this will be part of an assembly which will be placed mid point of each axis. I can later attach some sketches if anyone is interested in my plan.

Thanks,
JuniorC

So the encoder will make 1 turn for 60mm travel? What is maximum traverse speed?

I found the text in the Original Post almost impossible to understand because several ideas seem to be jumbled together. A little bit of white space makes things much easier to absorb - like this

How's everyone doing? I'm new to the Arduinos and to this forum. I need a little guidance on what I need to get.

I came across a PDF document from the Home Metal Shop Club that has some go info. But I want to check and make sure that there's not something a little more up to date.

I found this document very interesting. Because back in the day. I made an interface board which connected to the incremental rotary encoders (3600 P) then the parallel port of my PC.