Mini360 get's super hot, why?

Hi guys,

I am new to Arduino and this forum, so bear with me if I do something wrong :wink:

I have two battery, both 11.1v, one 1,5A and other 6A
I am connecting the 1.5A to the Mini-360 and check the output voltage to set the output voltage to 4v to 5v(going to later feed it to my small DC motors).
But now I am at the phase of setting the potentiometer on the Mini-360 to get the proper voltage result.

It gets so hot after a few minutes(perhaps even in 1 minute) which I cannot even touch.
Is it normal? or I am feeding it with the battery that has too much current(Not sure this is the case since I did not connect anything to it to consume and generate the flow(except my volt-meter))

Since it gets super hot with the 1.5A battery, I scared to test it with the 6A battery and also scared to use it. My final project is going to go inside the box and has not the fan :disappointed_relieved:

Your advice is so much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Amir

Since it gets super hot with the 1.5A battery, I scared to test it with the 6A battery

It will get no hotter with the high capacity battery as it does with the smaller one.

Basically it is getting hot because you are asking it to do too much or too little.

You could try extra output capacitors.

Try putting a resistor on the output for a load, say 100R. Some buck converters don’t like running into no load. Or connect it to your Arduino, that will draw about 30mA.

Hi Grumpy_Mike,

Thanks for the reply. It makes more sense now, to me.
Just to understand the capacitor and the resistor position, I create the sketch as the following picture. It would be something like the following sketch to be able to test the output voltage properly an dI can measure the voltage around R1, right?

Thanks again
Bests,
Amir

It would be something like the following sketch

Yes that would be the way to do it.