MOSFETs driving me crazy!

Hello!

I am new to Arduino (do I really need to tell? :grin:) and I'm trying to build a sunrise alarm clock. This project will be built of a 5 metres LED strip (working at 12V and a maximum of 2A), a buzzer and probably of an LCD I'm willing to buy soon.

For what I have read, in order to dim the LED strip I might use any n-Channel MOSFET (as long as it is capable of handling that much voltage and current my strip requires).
I have plenty of transistors available from an old PC motherboard, so after checking the datasheet of each one, I decided to use a random one, as all of them surprisingly meet the criteria.
But I found a problem: the LED strip did not turn off completely, even being the MOSFET turned fully off!
So I googled and found that I had to use a MOSFET whose Vgs would be 5.0V (so that Arduino can fully turn it on and off, am I right?)
The thing is, how do I know this!?

For example, lets check the datasheet of a MOSFET that lots of people recommend, the IRF540N
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irf.com%2Fproduct-info%2Fdatasheets%2Fdata%2Firf540n.pdf&ei=fNDLU5H7HaeR7Aad7oHQDA&usg=AFQjCNHYBdbkFHaOR-mz5oc_76e_5cpvhA&sig2=ZvR5XRb1-SoWSC8HUo_ucQ&bvm=bv.71198958,d.ZGU
How do I know it fully activates at 5 volts!!?? It says that maximum Vgs is ±20V. And other stuff talks about "Vgs @ 10V". Why should it work, why is it different from my MOSFETs?

Having this in mind, I searched for the transistor of my PCB having the less Vgs possible. I found a 9916H model
http://www.datasheet4u.com/download.php?id=705636
In the first page it is written:
Gate-Source Voltage ± 12V
but there were also some numbers about "Vgs @ 4.5V"
So I though it may work correctly, i.e., it would totally turn off the LED strip and totally turn it on.